Tell Me Something Good. Tell Me That You Still Love Me.

If I weren’t already done with the DNC (the Democratic National Committee, mind you, not Democrat candidates in general), I am now.  I just received an “Ask Me How Many Houses I Own” sticker in the mail, along with a request for a donation.  Hahahahaha, good one, Howard Dean!

You know, I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do with that sticker.  J and I own two houses.  And a piece of land.  And I’m not going to fucking apologize for it or be ashamed of it, because the only pack mules who carried the load on the road to acquiring those assets are J, me, and our families.  We didn’t step on anyone to get there.  We paid our taxes along the way.  We donated to charity along the way.  We paid our debts along the way.  We raised a few kids to feed into the Social Security pyramid scheme along the way.  We weren’t bad people; we just did as we’d been told our whole lives: get an education, get married, remain devoted to your spouse and your children, be a good citizen, pay your taxes, play by the rules, and save your money.  Shame on us?  I’m confused.

When did achieving the so-called “American dream” make you less of an American or less of a Democrat?  I know the sticker is a dig at McCain’s inability to remember how many houses he owns, but it felt like a slap in the face to this loyal Dem.  There’s also the fact that no one who sent this mailing out seems to realize that the wealthier I am, the more likely I might be to have extra cash around to donate to the DNC (not that I would at this point).  Insulting your donors is not the path to financial well-being.

In short, Ask Me How Many Ways I Can Think of for You to Fuck Off and Die, DNC.

4 Responses to “Tell Me Something Good. Tell Me That You Still Love Me.”

  1. SPARKLE Says:

    it’s like the party is trying to distance itself from the liberal elite label. Guess what, there is nothing wrong with being part of the liberal elite, people should aspire to be educated and socially conscious.

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Amen, Sparkle. That’s what I’m trying to say while foaming at the mouth here.

  3. sigourneyfever Says:

    I am really tired of this bullshit catchphrase cynicism. I’d rather have a sticker that says, “Ask me how the Democrats are going to help my neighbors stay in their houses”, and then have clear information to tell undecided voters: this is what Barack will do to stop the mortgage crisis, this is what he will do to create jobs, this is what he will do to stop the economy from tanking. That’s proactive, positive, and important. This “blah blah elitist” bullshit isn’t. Get back to the issues and stop wasting my fucking time, you know what I mean?

  4. badenbaden Says:

    You stay classy, DNC!

Leave a Reply

