If America Ceases to Be Good, America Will Cease to Be Great

This is a sentiment I believe in.  It’s one reason I’m a Democrat.  I think the Democratic party is out to do the most good for the most people.  I’m all about that, and I always will be.  This year’s presidential primary season was a difficult one for me, though, because I don’t think our party chose the best candidate.  I think Barack Obama will win the election, and I’m happy about that, but I think we had a chance to choose someone much more qualified and electable and effective and allowed that opportunity to slip through our fingers in a frenzy over all things shiny and new.  Sometimes I think I’ve moved past that (although I obviously haven’t), and the night I watched Obama’s acceptance speech at the convention was one of those times.  In that moment, I was especially proud to be a Democrat, because we are the party that wants good things – health insurance, job security, civil rights, and a free society – for our fellow citizens.  That’s the right side to be on.

Other times, I don’t feel as good about my fellow Dems, and our frenzied hatred of Sarah Palin – not for her policies, but for her as a person who is not like us – is at the top of my Democratic shame list right now.  I don’t like Sarah Palin’s politics.  I don’t agree with her on many of the issues.  And I think that is reason enough to say, “She’s not my candidate” and move on.  Many of my fellow Dems have done that, but unfortunately many haven’t.  And I don’t mind saying that it bugs me to no end.  There are a million nasty things I’ve heard about her, some of them true and some of them untrue, but none of them really relevant to whether any of us should vote for her.  It’s the untrue things that really burn me, though.  One of the worst of those untrue things is the rape kit myth.  It’s been debunked and debunked and debunked again, but not only does it continue to be perpetuated in some of our country’s most prominent newspapers (I tried to link to the Boston Globe’s editorial today, but apparently they’ve taken it down, so that’s good), it continues to be repeated by some of my fellow regular old Dems-on-the-street.  I don’t like it, y’all.  We’re the party of good, and lying about stuff doesn’t have anything to do with being on the side of good.  Remember swift boats?  Remember Obama’s Muslim faith?   Remember Vince Foster?  I do.

That is all.

Update: The Globe editorial is in fact up, and here it is.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “If America Ceases to Be Good, America Will Cease to Be Great”

  1. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Concur, Dems have the broader interests of a free and balanced society as their core mission. And I’m glad to say I’m a lifelong Dem!

    As to the issue of Palin, I cut her zero slack. Agreed, the perpetuation of lies is not acceptable about any candidate. However, as a person in a leadership position as Mayor and then Governor, she was/is in a position to be COGNIZANT of policy issues (assignment of public and/or private funds) related to a social/legal issue as important as rape! She plead ignorance on the issue when questioned! As an elected public official she has at her disposal resources/people for research and briefings to expand her knowledge on the many policy, resource and financial issues facing her constituients. I find her lack of substantive engagement and knowledge quite shocking, and disturbing. WTF did this woman do with her time and professional research resources as Mayor and Governor??? Had she functioned as an engaged, informed elected official she would have had no problem stepping up and dealing with the complexities of the financial policies associated with the rape kits that were spun/manipulated by various medias. And this is just a single example amongst the litany!

    In fairness, there are numerous politicians that are equally clueless in both parties. They just do a better job of thinking on their feet and delivering the spin. When push-comes-to-shove, I’m really curious to see how Barry will hold up when he has to dig in and actually craft and deliver REAL statesmanship and leadership….not just the spin of promises. For the sake of this country I pray that he delivers.

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Agreed, Devil. If it was ever an issue in her town, she should’ve shown some leadership on the subject. I simply dislike the misinformation coming from our side because we’re better than that. Ultimately, I simply do not care about this woman because she is not on my ticket, and if I want to try to convince someone to come over my side (fruitless, but let’s say theoretically that I am going to try), the last thing I want to do is bait that person with a lie.

  3. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Agreed, lies don’t serve the higher good of serving society! From my many years as a Health Director I had to deal with both sides of political aisle locally and in Raleigh. The continual emergence, and advancement, of incompetent elected officials on both sides really disturbs me…..and I have homicidal PMS this week! Plez to overlook the rantings of The Devil!!!

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    If anyone’s ranting, it’s me, damnit!

    P.S. I sent you a Facebook thingy about public health issues. I’m curious on your take.

  5. dorothyzbornak Says:

    I completely agree. In my opinion, there’s absolutely no reason to tell lies and rumors about her because there’s such a wealth of factual bad to focus on. Why make up stuff or perpetuate untruths when she continually gives us examples of her lack of knowledge and leadership ability? We as Dems don’t need to stoop to the level of lying and dirty, sneaky, Karl Rove-style politics with this one. The bad about her’s out there in plain sight.

Leave a Reply

