In Which I Am a Weirdo

So in my pre-Hurricane Hanna preparations I photographed every last damn thing in my home to prove to the friendly insurance adjustor that I had a lot of nice shit before the Atlantic swallowed it all.  Luckily I haven’t had to use those photos yet, but they are a fascinating study in the stuff I accumulate.  It blows my mind that when I got married nine years ago I didn’t own one single toy, and now I have maybe 3,000 plastic figurines from McDonald’s, 1,500 Pokemon cards, 60 Webkinz, etc.

My favorite picture is the one above, though, because I think it perfectly captures what a redneck I am.  If you’re going to cook up a nice White Trash meal, why not photograph it, you know?  That’s peach tea in the Ole Miss cup, BTW.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “In Which I Am a Weirdo”

  1. london_calling Says:

    That also looks like the perfect hangover meal…excuse me while I wipe the saliva off my keyboard.

  2. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Oh yummy, especially whatever is slathered with cheese at the top of the plate. So when’s dinner Beach Bum!?

  3. angiesyounglover Says:

    oh hellllll that looks so good! and yeah, i’m with greeneyed! whatever is covered in cheese look divine!

  4. trixiefromtoronto Says:

    Goodness, that looks delicious!

    What is peach tea?

  5. dorothyzbornak Says:

    @AGreenEyeDevil, @AYL: Looks like some delicious homemade mac ‘n cheese to me.
    And yeah, when’s dinner?

  6. sigourneyfever Says:

    BISCUITS!!!!

  7. nadarine Says:

    But you’re eating off a plate, and using utensils! You’re too fancy for redneckdom.

  8. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    That’s right, Dotty, that’s HOMEMADE mac&cheese. So good. And Trixie, peach tea is just sweet tea (mmmmmmm) with peach flavoring.

    Thank you, Nadarine. I got all fancy that night b/c the UT/UCLA game was on, but even this meal didn’t bring the Vols the mojo they needed.

  9. angiesyounglover Says:

    also, the vegetables on this plate are just as they should be: smaller portion than anything else. just my style.

Leave a Reply

