Meh?

I often wonder why pro-choice voters cross party lines.

This poll provides an answer: only 13% of voters refuse to vote for a candidate who does not share their views on the issue.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Meh?”

  1. jonolan Says:

    Abortion is just the the KEY issue for most voters. Whether they’re for or against abortion, there are more important issues for most people.

    This shocks you? How many women do you think are planning to have an abortion in the near future? How quickly do you think Roe v. Wade could be overturned? How quickly after such a reversal could the states outlaw abortion?

    Then there’s when is your next rent or mortgage payment due? How’s that fuel bill? How are we protecting ourselves from terrorists? etc…

    Some issues are immediate and pervasive. The abortion issue is a “safety net” sort of thing for most people. The pro-choice side wants to be able to abort their unwanted children if at some point they feel the need to and the pro-lifers don’t want that abortion to happen if at some point it was desired.

  2. jonolan Says:

    That should have been “Abortion is just NOT the the KEY issue for most voters.”

  3. cate3710 Says:

    @jonolan: “How quickly after such a reversal could the states outlaw abortion?”

    For some states, immediately. Various states have laws in place that would kick in as soon as Roe v. Wade was overturned.

  4. lalaland13 Says:

    Yup Cate, my state is one of those. I really hate it. I’d like to blame Mike Huckabee for it, somehow, but I have no idea if he’s responsible for it or what.

  5. Bebehblog Says:

    I have been trying to explain to people ALL WEEK – including my own husband – that although there are other important issues to think about, I cannot vote for a candidate who wants to completely outlaw abortion. I just can’t.

    I am a woman first before I am anything else (employee, wife, mother, homeowner, etc) so those rights are the most important to me. I don’t plan on having an abortion in the near future (I pray I don’t ever need one) but I still want to have a CHOICE. Argh, I can’t even talk about it anymore I’m going insane.

Leave a Reply

