Soooooo…

Can I ask a serious question?  Why didn’t Barack Obama choose HRC to be on his ticket?  I didn’t think he would, but I’m a pessimist at heart.  I haven’t even thought much about it until tonight, but tonight I’m thinking about it a lot because I just watched a bunch of Republican women go apeshit over their female vice presidential nominee.  And I am happy for them in my own way. 

So…why?  I Googled the official explanation, and I have to say: Answering “Why didn’t you think she was the right choice” with “She just wasn’t right choice” isn’t an answer.  Kthx.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Soooooo…”

  1. dennymajor Says:

    Well, it’s obvious that they don’t like each other. But I think he looked at who would help him out the most in the White House. Sure, Hillary probably would’ve guaranteed him the election – but he looked at the next 4 years instead of the next few months. (Obviously, McCain did the opposite.) Biden is practically THE expert on foreign policy and he’d make a great advisor.

    I think Hillary would’ve been a good choice, but I think she can do much better in other positions (maybe Senate Majority Leader? – or some health care / other cabinet position).

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    I honestly didn’t want to see her run in the #2 slot, but I am also unhappy about the fact that she wasn’t seriously vetted. And I agree that she’d do much more good as Secretary of State of HHS or even in her regular old Senate seat than she would as veep.

    And you’re right that they don’t like each other. I just thought she could help him win and make me happy in the process. It’s all about me!

    Thanks for commenting.

  3. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    *or* HHS

  4. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Too many strong personalities in the mix, not the least of which is Michelle. Although I like Obama and HRC’s combination of stengths and experience ON PAPER…I suspect it would have quickly grown toxic in real time. As much as I like the Clintons, I often wonder if they simply have too much baggage to be part of the WH again. Is their legacy best advanced by moving on to other global issues of peace and security?? I would be thrilled to see Bill wade into the fight to stabalize Pakistan or work to address the growing discord between Muslims and non-Muslims across Europe.

  5. sigourneyfever Says:

    I think it would have been too easy for McCain to shoot back with the “Oh, so you want change, but you’re putting the Clintons on the ticket” kind of bs. I think it was just an easy target, considering how nasty the primaries got between them. The attack ads would have been pretty easy to compile, sadly. “Oh, now they’re a ticket, but before, Hillary said blah blah about Barack, and Barack said blah blah about Hillary.”

    I also agree that Hillary would make a great Secretary of State and would actually be more effective and have much more to do and much more influence in that position.

    I would have LOVED to see a Palin/Clinton debate though. It would have been amazing.

  6. notaclevername Says:

    I wonder if she rejected an offer and made another deal with him. “I’ll throw my support behind you if you make me Secretary of State.”

  7. dorothyzbornak Says:

    @sigourneyfever: No lie, I literally just got goosebumps at the thought of a Palin/Clinton debate. Man, that would’ve been glorious.

    But yeah, as much as I think Hill as VP would’ve won him the election, I agree with y’all that she’d be best used in a cabinet position (I think Secretary of State has her name all over it). Let’s hope it gets to happen.

Leave a Reply

