Sharp as a Tack

Suddenly, T. Boone Pickens is everywhere I look.  He has a teevee ad here in South Carolina pushing his natural gas agenda.  He invaded my NPR time this morning.  And yesterday, I caught him on Fox News, addressing the important issues that face our nation today:

Fox News Reporter: One last question, Mr. Pickens.  You’re in a boat with Obama and McCain.  One falls overboard.  Who do you save?

T. Boone Pickens:  The one who fell out of the boat. 

Put this man in charge of our energy resources stat!  Or smack Fox News upside the head.  Either way.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Sharp as a Tack”

  1. dorothyzbornak Says:

    I’m so glad you posted this cause I love me some T. Boone Pickens right now! I love his name, I love his ideas, I love his moxie. Who knew I’d eventually fall for an elderly oil baron?

  2. lalaland13 Says:

    He’s smart and has some good ideas, but I can’t like him too much because he helped with the Swift Boat shit. But I do love that answer.

  3. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    You’re right, lala. I tried to find a clip of the exchange by searching for “T. Boone Pickens” and “boat,” and I found a lot of swift boat stuff instead. Wrongful!

    DottyZ, Get thee to Minneapolis ASAP. I think he’s still there, and if I heard him correctly on NPR this morning, he’s giving his entire estate away to charity (he volunteered that information in response to the “you stand to gain the most by fueling vehicles with natural gas, what about that, huh?” question). You’ve got what it takes to be the wealthy widow of an oil barron, I just know it! *Cue the “Dallas” music.*

  4. cate3710 Says:

    Ahahahaha, that answer is great. Way to screw up the question, Fox. Though it would be a dumb question even if asked correctly.

  5. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    You’re right, Cate. As the reporter was asking the question, I was so focused on how incredibly dumb it was that I missed how dumb it REALLY was. So, so dumb all the way around.

  6. Bebehblog Says:

    He runs those ads all the damn time in Connecticut and I still can’t figure out who he is. Is he running for something? That question and answer is amazingly awesome though.

  7. notaclevername Says:

    I have not seen this man’s commercials (means little, since I never watch them), but someone asked me the other day if I’d seen them, and I thought he was talking about T-Bone Burnett (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-Bone_Burnett).

    That answer (and question) is priceless!!

Leave a Reply

