I Watch the RNC So You Don’t Have To

Sarah Palin: Many things, but a bad public speaker is not one of them.  You ain’t got to lie, Craig, so I won’t: she hit a homerun.  McCain will not top it.  Now, onto the debates.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “I Watch the RNC So You Don’t Have To”

  1. London_Calling Says:

    While she didn’t really break any new ground…I also broke out my credit card and donated tonight too (to the DNC and Obama). It’ll be interesting to see how it plays out in the polls.

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    London, you masochist! I see you are kinky like me.

    I won big points in my house for watching tonight without throwing things. Drinking helps.

  3. cate3710 Says:

    I also watched and also managed to not throw anything! I wasn’t too impressed with the speech. The presentation was pretty good, but the speech itself was kind of meh. Maybe it was just coming after Rudy, whose speech filled me with rage. Community organizer is not an insult, people!

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Gold star, Cate! We shall overcome [our urge to break things].

  5. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    I read the speech transcript on-line, so my observations don’t reflect actual delivery. The text of the speech continued to solidify her as the “common citizen” candidate….which can be an influential position for relating to a nation jaded and distrustful of seasoned politicians and the Washington machine.

    Aside from the speech, I do remain concerned that the handling of Bristol’s pregnancy in this convention, and afterwards, will unintentionally downplay the seriousness/hardships of the decision to bear a child as a teenager. The resources and accomodations available to this young lady are not typical, a fact that will no doubt be lost on the perspective of most teens.

  6. london_calling Says:

    This really summed last night up for me.

    http://www.fivethirtyeight.com/2008/09/great-speech-for-both-bases.html

    This is the thing about Palin – she’ll fire up the base, which is something McCain needed to do, as there was a strong possibility that the conservative core could have stayed home this election cycle. But, by picking Palin and energizing that base, they have totally given up on a large portion of the undecided and economic Republicans – the people who in the end are going to decide the election. This year isn’t about who has the best turnout wins, this is who can get the middle. That’s why I’m not quite freaking out about her so much, but I’ll reserve that until I see what the post-convention bounce looks like.

  7. dorothyzbornak Says:

    Y’all are stronger than me because there was no way in hell I’d have been able to watch her without destroying some of my property. I did read the highlights today though, and that was bad enough.

    @london_calling: I hope you’re right. I believe you are, and I’m really hoping it all works out that way.

Leave a Reply

