Hanna Has My Number

There’s a hurricane coming my way, and it will be my first.  Horry County, South Carolina, where I live, is currently at OPCON 3.  Sounds ominous, and it is.  However, fellow East Tennessean Brendan Loy’s weather blog tells me that Hanna will most likely hit South Carolina as nothing stronger than a Category 1 hurricane.  As I was sheepishly standing in line at Target to buy water and batteries and a weather radio, the checkout lady explained to me that, while serious, a Category 1 hurricane is not too bad – a “good way to get your feet wet” for the uninitiated like me. 

All righty then.  Now if you will excuse me, I am going to finish photographing everything in my house and wrap up an email debate about whether to buy a generator.  I’m leaning “yes” because the thought of living in a house with 3 other adults, 3 kids, and 7 pets without power for anything more than 5 minutes makes $1250 sound like a bargain.

See y’all on the other side of Hanna!

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Hanna Has My Number”

  1. dorothyzbornak Says:

    I keep hoping that heifer Hanna will head on back out to sea and leave you and the rest of the US alone. But the lady at the counter was right, Category 1 hurricanes aren’t horrible. You guys will be fine. My suggestion is buy the generator, stock up on the booze and throw yourself a hurricane party. It’s your first!

  2. sigourneyfever Says:

    Even if a Category 1 isn’t horrible, it’s always good to be prepared, and it sounds like you are. Be safe and know that we are thinking of you.

  3. a.clever.otter Says:

    I feel your pain and I am thinking good thoughts and sending them your way. But I should fly up for a visit, because I have magical hurricane repellent that keeps storms away from me and weak when they do get close.

    As for the generator, it’s a good thing to have, but…
    DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT run your generator in your house or garage, even with the door open. I like you and would prefer for you not to die from carbon monoxide poisoning.

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Jeez, Otter, come on up b/c we’re now looking at a Category 1 or 2 landfall 10 miles south of me. I need all the mojo and voodoo I can get.

    And good advice on the generator! I must say I’m clueless about them, but I received quite an education online today. You’re right on the money: Rule #1 is to avoid the deadly mistake 68 other people made last year by running the generator under the deck or in the garage. Yikes.

  5. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Be safe Beach Bum and plez 2 be careful w/the generator, we don’t want anything to happen to that southern wit and snark! Keep us posted as you can!

  6. MsScarlet Says:

    You don’t need me to tell you to be careful. I’ll be watching the track and hoping for the best for y’all!

  7. lalaland13 Says:

    Fingers crossed for ya, Myrtle.We’ve been getting washed away by the remnants of freakin’ Gustav. Some places have 9-12 inches of rain. It’s insane.

    Yeah, I went through Rita, and it was only a Cat. 1 or TS by the time it got to me. Was without power 16 hours, and it probably would have gone quicker but I wasn’t like my fellow collegians who said “Marga-RITA!” and got plastered. Which was probably a decent approach, actually.

    If this joke isn’t too old by now, I think we should rename Hurricane Ike to be Hurricane Fuckin’ Dyke.

  8. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Thank you, ladies.

    MsScarlet, I am ever mindful of your parents’ and our extended family’s experience with Katrina. I certainly don’t want to top their story!

    Lala, today’s paper had a hurricane checklist. One item on the list? “Stay sober.” Ha.

    Hurricane Ike shall henceforth be known as Hurrican dIke. Let it be so.

  9. nadarine Says:

    Be safe, MBB- I want you to be safely warm and dry and never having to wonder if your Maker’s Mark will run out. Bonne chance!

  10. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Nadarine, Maker’s is on my dwindling list of things to purchase/do! Yes, I am going to do Maker’s Mark! Who is surprised? No one.

    And thanks for your good wishes, love.

  11. bebehblog Says:

    I lived through a hurricane as a kid and my only advice is 1) Remember to bring in your patio furniture. Wind does funny stuff to glass tables. 2) Pray if any trees fall they fall away from your house/car. Oh and don’t make your children walk home from school because your car has a tree through it and you forgot to call and tell them to catch a ride with the neighbor. God Bless and stay safe!

  12. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    bebehblog, I LOVE a good “I forgot about my kids story.” I may or may not have one of those. I will share the fact that, as a tired young mom working my first big-time job, I TWICE forgot to get my dogs out of the car on Sunday night after our weekly trip to the in-laws’ house. Trust that there is nothing quite like getting in the car on Monday morning in your suit, looking in the rearview mirror at two patiently waiting pups, and saying “oh shit.” Unless it’s doing it for the second time.

Leave a Reply

