Well, Shit.

This afternoon, as I was walking out of Kroger with $200 worth of groceries, a little dog came running up to me.  He was wearing a collar and two leashes linked end to end, and he was just as cute and friendly as he could be.  I was fairly sure he had been tied up outside while his owner shopped, so I stood there like an idiot for about 10 minutes, holding the leash and saying, “Yes, thank you, but he’s not mine; I think his owner is in the store shopping” to everyone who stopped by to say how cute he was.  Finally, I grabbed an employee and told him make an announcement in the store so the owner would come get his dog before all my groceries melted.  A few minutes later, the employee came bopping out and said, “They don’t want to make an announcement, but you can take the dog home with you if you want.”

Well, that makes two unhappy customers, Kroger.  Because the last thing I wanted was to take the stupid dog home with me, and I’m sure the last thing the owner wanted was to continue shopping, blissfully unaware that his dog was running around loose. I finally handed the leash to the employee, told him it wasn’t my problem, and went home.

Poor dog.  I hope he’s okay.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Well, Shit.”

  1. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    That Kroger manager needs a stern Come.To.Jesus meeting!! Do I need to come down there, damnit!

  2. lalaland13 Says:

    Oh shit. Reminds me of once I was leaving the post office and next to me in the car was a little dog that was clearly burning up-the window was cracked an inch, if at all. I don’t remember if I went in or not, but I was close to it, and then the car’s owner came out and I may have said something, but I know I glared at her. Hard.

  3. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Lalaland…oh that is my greatest warm weather grievance! I know Wal Mart hates to see me coming because I WILL raise hell until the owner of the car in question is paged.

  4. lalaland13 Says:

    Devil, I’ve gone into Wal-Mart and had them paged before. The lady was nice and said she’d page em, wait a few minutes, and try again. I then went out to the car as the page was being said and the people were getting in and loading up their stuff. And the puppy was happy to see them, of course. Puppies deserve better than morons.

Leave a Reply

