Who Stole Our Thunder?

 

My Republican husband gets to vote for a woman in a presidential election before I do.  An anti-choice woman (who lives her anti-choice principles, to give credit where credit is due), but a woman nonetheless.  I’ve worked and voted women’s issues since I turned 18 in 1992, and I am still waiting my turn, folks.  The Republicans have chosen a woman, a wife, a mother, and a daughter to be one heartbeat away from the job of commander in chief and leader of the free world.

Well played, John McCain.

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Who Stole Our Thunder?”

  1. lalaland13 Says:

    But this seems to me like a clear and ridiculous pander like “Hey, if you liked Hillary, would you settle for Sarah?” Fail on that part. And if McCain does kick the bucket, I don’t want this woman in the White House. Maybe he succeeds in symbolism, but he just crapped on his entire “experience is important” creed. Wondering if he’s going to slip up and refer to her as “the vice presidential cunt-I mean, candidate.”

  2. outsider222 Says:

    ROFL

  3. Bad Says:

    “My Republican husband gets to vote for a woman in a presidential election before I do. ”

    Just as a matter of historical note, Palin is not the first woman VP candidate. That too was brought by the Dems… and decades ago.

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Okay, Bad, I did know about Ferraro. I’m 33, though, and neither I nor my 34 year-old husband could vote in 1984.

    Duly noted, though.

  5. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    I don’t think it’s a pander. She’s one of the most conservative of the slate of candidates he was choosing from, and he needed to reach out to his conservative base. He has BIG problems with the anti-choicers, and she couldn’t be more anti-choice. She chose to have her youngest despite genetic testing revealing he had Down syndrome. She’s the young to his old. She’s the outsider to the Senate seat he’s held since prehistoric times. She’s the only one who has executive experience. She’s from a state that’s at the center of the energy debate. Her son is about to deploy to Iraq. She’s a union member. She’s married to a Native American. She’s a liftime member of the NRA. Every Repub I’ve spoken with is THRILLED.

    Lala, you know I will not vote for McCain/Palin. But I will always give the Repubs credit for campaigning well, getting out the vote, and making smart choices when it comes to electability. The things we could learn from them could keep us busy until November. Take the way McCain handled the VP announcement. It’s the middle of the day on Friday, and everyone I know is talking about McCain/Palin. I’m watching it on t.v. You and I are exchanging ideas about it on the internet. It’s all over the news. In short, it’s not 3:22 a.m. on a Saturday, and I’m not wondering whether Barack forgot to send me my text message to let me know what’s going on. And on the heels of his speech last night, McCain couldn’t have done anything more interesting to take the spotlight away from us.

  6. lalaland13 Says:

    You’re right, Myrtle, that is something people are talking about. Waiting to see if this will play as well in person as it does, in some circles, on paper. Should be interesting, although I think/hope in the long run, Barack’s speech last night will play a bigger role than Palin. McCain hasn’t always run things smoothly, but this is pretty good. Wild card is the investigation into trooper stuff in Alaska.

    I hope, but I’m not holding my breath, that people will point out he doesn’t support equal pay for women as a fundamental right, but apparently thinks this lady can be president if his cancer comes back, or if something happens to him that happens to plenty of other 72-year-olds.

    Speaking of which, on a solemn note, I was watching the speech last night and muttering, “Don’t get shot” at Obama. I was really afraid something was going to happen to him in that big stadium.

  7. London_Calling Says:

    I don’t know, some of the Republicans I’ve been talking to are like wtf as well, while others think it’s great.

    Personally, she seems like a 2nd wife – the choice of her comes across like trading in a first wife, for a younger, prettier, but ultimately less experienced model. As a woman, I’m pretty fucking pissed at the obvious attempt to pander to me, and steal Hillary voters. Sure, I’d love to vote for a woman for president or vice president, but in this case, I’d rather have my glass ceiling with 18 million cracks in than one broken by Sarah Palin.

  8. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Yeah, lala, the feminists are going to have to hit back REALLY hard, and you raise some good points about where they could start. As a wise woman said to me today, you know that job will fall to HRC, in part. And she will do it b/c she is awesome, but if it were me, I would have to take a baseball bat to a car first to get out the rage before I hit the press circuit.

    London, yes, I must agree that there’s some WTF going on w/ some Repubs, but I trust they will get the vote out regardless. They ALWAYS vote. I never bought the argument they would stay home b/c McCain wasn’t batshit right-wing enough. And I’m with you all the way on not voting for her, but damn. Fuck.

  9. cate3710 Says:

    Many Republicans may be thrilled, but I’m hoping a lot of independents are not. *crosses fingers*

  10. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    It’s a risky, yet gutsy, move by the Reps. They’re cognizant this will be a close race, a reality that seems to be a little harder to convey to many Dems!

Leave a Reply

