Back to Life, Back to Reality

I’ve been back on the [Not-So] Grand Strand for a few days now, having been chased off Hilton Head by Fay-related downpours, and I must say I’m less than thrilled to be back in 4-for-$10-t-shirt-ville.  I love, love, love my house, but venturing outside is less than inspiring after spending a few days in the Lowcountry done right.  This is all to say: I’ve been lazy, extremely drunk, and without the benefit of my mojo for the past few days, and I haven’t felt like writing anything. 

Tonight, however, I made my way over to SpicyTamale’s fabulous baking blog, and there waiting for me was a lovely post  about my favorite sweet on earth: red velvet cake.  And I can’t think about red velvet cake without thinking about the best place to eat red velvet cake: Regas Restaurant in Knoxville, Tennessee.  And I can’t think about Regas without thinking about my home state and all things good and wonderful that lie therein: UT Vols, Pat Head Summitt, Phil Bredesen and his merry band of moderate and sane politicians, the Great Smoky Mountains, Dollywood, Stax Records, Lookout Mountain, the Sequatchie Valley, Bid Ed’s Pizza, Graceland, the Incline Railway, Ruby Falls, See Rock City barns, the Tennessee River, water skiing on Fort Loudon Lake, hiking in Frozen Head State Park, all of my BFFs, and, well…sniff.  Fuck.  Anyway, I’m here, I’m beer, but I’m not yet used to it.  The green, green grass of home still calls me every now and then, and even though I try not to listen, when the King comes a knockin’, his loyal subject is always gonna answer.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Back to Life, Back to Reality”

  1. Skinny Bone Jones Says:

    Do kids really play with june bugs on a string back home, love? I really do need to know.

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Do you NOT remember that part of our Tennessee sojourn? Were you in the HOT TUB at the time, making out with a devastatingly beautiful Jewess?

    I have your number, you know. We will repeat the Tennessee trip until you can remember every last detail, down to the june bugs on a string.

  3. Skinny Bone Jones Says:

    ZOMG, please? Pretty please? Maybe as a bedtime story? PRETTY PLEASE SUGAR FUNFETTI CHERRY CHAMPS BUTTER NOM!?!?!

Leave a Reply

