25 Days Until God’s Conference Football Kicks Off

Definitive proof that the ACC sucks balls: Some frumpy bitch with a Wake Forest sticker on her Toyota tried to run me off the road today.  But this Vol fan wasn’t goin’ down like that.  A quick swerve to the right, and I was on my way.  I just can’t be bothered with the ACC or Toyota, y’all.  Oh what a feeling?  Not so much. 

Now that we’ve settled that matter, please mark your calendars for the beginning of the SEC football season on Thursday August 28, when Carolina hosts NC State (hi, Dotty Z!) and Vanderbilt heads up to Miami (OH).  It’s very big news, it’s important to know, and that’s why I’m bothering telling you so.

Tags: , ,

16 Responses to “25 Days Until God’s Conference Football Kicks Off”

  1. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Woo Hoo you Big Orange Beach Bum!!! Ah yes, SEC football is truly God’s chosen sport and one of the few things worth proselytizing in life. So, you wayward, heathern souls just pick a team and come into the light! Although this Georgia Dawg and Gamecock gal would be happiest if you picked her teams, the Big Orange isn’t a bad choice either.

  2. MsScarlet Says:

    Oh hell yeah! I’m getting pumped up early b/c my Redskins are on right now! Gotta love the coming of Fall and Football! Can I get an amen?!

  3. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    AMEN!!! How exciting is Fall football? Probably more than it should be since it happens every year, but I cannot be soothed.

    What’s next? Christmas in December?!

  4. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Amen, amen!!! How are the rankings for this year??

  5. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    I think the USA Today poll is the only one out:

    1. Georgia (22) 0-0 1,438
    2. USC (14) 0-0 1,430
    3. Ohio State (14) 0-0 1,392
    4. Oklahoma (3) 0-0 1,329
    5. Florida (5) 0-0 1,293
    6. LSU (3) 0-0 1,163
    7. Missouri 0-0 1,143
    8. West Virginia 0-0 1,008
    9. Clemson 0-0 999
    10. Texas 0-0 979
    11. Auburn 0-0 888
    12. Wisconsin 0-0 747
    13. Kansas 0-0 714
    14. Texas Tech 0-0 644
    15. Virginia Tech 0-0 568
    16. Arizona State 0-0 560
    17. Brigham Young 0-0 547
    18. Tennessee 0-0 506
    19. Illinois 0-0 422
    20. Oregon 0-0 399
    21. South Florida 0-0 350
    22. Penn State 0-0 313
    23. Wake Forest 0-0 203
    24. Michigan 0-0 112
    25. Fresno State 0-0 91

    Others Receiving Votes
    Alabama 83, South Carolina 64, Utah 60, Rutgers 53, Florida State 53, Boston College 47, California 41, Pittsburgh 34, Boise State 25, Oregon State 23, Nebraska 17, Cincinnati 13, Virginia 12, Connecticut 9, Michigan State 9, Mississippi State 6, Kentucky 5, Notre Dame 5, TCU 5, Maryland 4, Texas A&M 3, UCLA 3, North Carolina 3, Louisville 2, Georgia Tech 2, UCF 2, Tulsa 1, Oklahoma State 1, Arizona 1, Colorado 1.

    I think that Florida and Georgia are the only SEC teams with strong returning quarterbacks, but I still have faith. God always smiles on us because he loves us best.

  6. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Listen at you, such Vol modesty!

  7. dorothyzbornak Says:

    Y’all, the joy in my house last night over live football on the TV was too great to even describe. And it was just NFL, which is fun, but let’s be real, college FB is where it’s at.

    And even though I’m an ACC girl, I gotta give the SEC its due, because it is THE football conference (although, I think mine has basketball on lock). I mean, hell, just look at those rankings and you can see that. And even though I’m counting down the days until August 28th (which falls right between two beach trips during my week off!), I know my boys are gonna get their asses handed to them by the Gamecocks. The outlook isn’t so good for the Wolfpack this year, so be gentle, it’s gonna be a tough season for DottyZ!

    Oh, and Val, Wake Forest can suck it.

  8. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Well the almighty does favor The South Dotty Z, SEC football and ACC basketball! I promise not to be TOO obnxious over my G’cocks, I hope Spurrier will keep them pulled together and moving forward. As for my Dawg luv, that obnoxiousness may be a little harder to tame cause that’s from birth ya’ll!

    Concur, Wake is for sissies.

  9. dorothyzbornak Says:

    @AGreenEyeDevil: One of my good friends went to UGA and she took me to Athens two summers ago to hang out with some of her old college friends who still live in town. It was my first time there, so she took me on a tour of campus and told me she lived in the dorm right next to the football stadium. I was all, “OMG, how awesome was it to just walk to games? How awesome was it to see games in that stadium?” And she was all, meh, and said she hardly ever went to games. My head nearly exploded.

  10. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    DottyZ wow, I’m at a loss for words! How can one be “of The South” and not fixated on college ball – OMG. UGA was my dad’s alama mater and he passed the passion along to me. Some of my sweetest memories are of sitting at home on a Saturday w/my dad listening to Larry Munson call the games on the radio. If the game was on TV, dad would turn the radio on and turn the TV volume down because he had no patience with announcers other than the iconic Munson! I wanted to attend UGA, but out of state tuition took that option off the table, so I’m forever a fan a step removed…but obnoxiously devoted anyway!

  11. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Jesus Mary and Joseph when you live on campus and have tickets, you USE them. When we were at UT, they had just installed the Jumbotron in Neyland Stadium, and it served me well during the games I attended while I was PREGNANT with TWINS. Every once in a while I could sit down (student section stands up the entire game, y’all) and peek through people’s legs to catch the action on the big screen.

    Doesn’t this bitch know there are ticket deprived fans starving in the streets?

    God help us all.

  12. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Bless you Beach Bum, that is true Vol devotion!

  13. araujo03 Says:

    God would never choose the SEC – they cheat and he does not approve cheaters

  14. lalaland13 Says:

    Ohh football. My pop and I (why I suddenly am calling him my pop, I don’t know) are going to try to go to a Razorback game this year. And they will probably be not-so-good this year, so hey, cheap tickets!

    Dotty, I lived in a dorm for three years (I know) that was a short walk from the stadium. I went to a lot of games my first two years, then I started working weekends at the paper and didn’t so much. But of course, our team was 1-AA and just OK. And what I hate hate hated was when they’d rent it out for playoff games and we’d be told we couldn’t use our own damn dorm parking, or it was so full we couldn’t even if the UPD or whoever would let us. Or when I’d be trying to sleep and hear, “And the Eagles score!” Although at one point I had a room with a window that I could literally see the scoreboard from. That was kinda neat.

  15. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Araujo03 small piece of advice…SEEK.LIFE.ELSEWHERE.

  16. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Araujo03: You’re cheatin’ heart will tell on you. ROLL TIDE!

Leave a Reply

