The Better Road Not Taken

Two paths diverged in a green and yellow wood

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one player, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

Then took the other, though less fair

Despite the fact that I saw there

Johnny Unitas limping, Michael Jordan gimping

Willie Mays stumbling, Muhammad Ali mumbling,

Jerry Rice’s legacy faded, and Joe Montana traded.

Their path grassy, but in need of no further wear

As though they had passed too many times there.

And at the end of the other path lay

In leaves few steps had trodden black

The ones who had taken the correct way:

Koufax, Brown, Sanders, Gretzky, and Pearson – there they stood

At the end of that other path in the yellow and green wood.

Oh, I should have taken that path today!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way

I know that I shall never again

Have the chance to do as I should have then

And I fear I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere, many “Real Sports” episodes and episodes nigh;

Two roads diverged in a retirement wood, and I-

I did not take the one best traveled by

And my fans fear it will make all the difference.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The Better Road Not Taken”

  1. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    I suspect a turn on Dancing with the Stars might look not-so-bad once this plays out. Why Favre, why!? A shout out to M for that career option!!

  2. dorothyzbornak Says:

    This hurts my heart. He needs to just stay retired and enjoy being filthy rich and still young and healthy enough to enjoy it.

  3. lalaland13 Says:

    Did you write this? If so, good job. He’s mucking it up. He really is. He’s screwing over the Packers, while they haven’t exactly handled this perfectly either.

    At this point I’m thinking the only reason he’ll leave is a concussion or some other injury. Not saying I want that to happen, but geez man.

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Yes, lala, I am the Robert Frost butcher. Thanks!

    Total drama queen, I agree. Maybe General Hospital can hold a place for him as their resident coma patient. He’d be right at home amongst the histrionics.

Leave a Reply

