I Just Want to Tell You Good Luck, We’re All Counting on You

We know that Barack Obama is a rock star.  Germany wants him to rock them, Obamadeus.  And it appears that he really, really rocked the shit out of the Berlin Wall during his recent trip.  I’m happy for him, and I’m happy for us.  Anytime an American politician can buy us a little goodwill overseas, it’s a good thing, even when the ambassador isn’t one of my faves.  Hell, I’d applaud a George Bush-Mahmoud Ahmadinejad dance-off if we could arrange one.  I think Obama needs to focus, though, on what we need for him to do back home.

Barry has got to start hanging with people in key battleground states.  Last time I checked, Germany was not a battleground state.  Yes, yes, I know he is leading in polls, but as Al Gore will tell you, winning the popular vote will buy you an extra 50 pounds, a trip back home to Tennessee, and an Oscar.  My state doesn’t matter.  Your state probably doesn’t matter.  But Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Colorado, and Ohio do matter – a lot.  Those are the states whose electoral votes will likely decide the election, and NPR told me just this morning that McCain is closing in on Barry in Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota and is leading in Colorado.  I was watching a “Project Runway” rerun while listening, so I can’t tell you what’s going on in Ohio except for overblown ideas about the quality of their football program.

If Barry were battling for South Carolina, I could tell him what to do.  Go to church in the upstate, schmooze the (relative) bigwigs and have a nice steak at Dianne’s on Devine in Columbia, and knock back 17 or so beers at a shrimp boil in the lowcountry.  But South Carolina is solidly red, so I have no advice for him, other than to get his ass back here and start shaking every motherfucking hand in those five states.  Time is running short, but the fat lady ain’t sung yet.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “I Just Want to Tell You Good Luck, We’re All Counting on You”

  1. dorothyzbornak Says:

    I’m so excited because NC is an undecided state at this point (we always go red) and let me tell you, ol’ Barry’s blowing up our airwaves here. There’s an Obama commercial on every other minute and I have yet to see one McCain ad (I know Obama’s got way more money, but still). And today, everyone’s favorite nutty Dem, Howard Dean, is making stops across the state, signing people up to vote.

    Also, I don’t know if this means much, but I’ve seen a total of 3 McCain stickers (no signs or anything at all) and I see Obama stuff EVERYWHERE. Even in my rednecky little hometown. It gives me hope we might actually go blue for once.

  2. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    Isn’t that just like the communist babykilling media to ignore the South? I had no idea NC was in play, Dotty. That’s awesome. Sounds like the Obama machine is hard at work up there, and good on them for that.

  3. dorothyzbornak Says:

    Yeah, it’s pretty crazy because we NEVER go blue. Well, except for Governors and occasionally, Senators. And I’m so excited about that too cause it looks like we’re about to have a female Governor (our first, I believe) and there’s a kick-ass lady running on the Dem side for Liddy Dole’s Senate seat.

    But yeah, Obama (and the Dems in general) are really working their asses off here. I see Dem campaigners/campaign stuff everywhere with nary a McCain/GOP representative to be found. It makes me hopeful my vote might actually count for once.

  4. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    That’s so Tennessee! We usually have a Dem governor and have had a handful of Dem Senators over the years. When I was studying for the bar, I learned that Tennessee’s laws and constitution are based on North Carolina’s, so I guess we’ll just continue to follow your lead, hopefully by turning a little bluer (but not in the face) all the time.

    Now if y’all would just watch and learn from us when it comes to football.

  5. dorothyzbornak Says:

    Ha, we definitely need some help in the football area. I’d say we have basketball on lock, except the Lady Vols and Memphis boys (almost) kinda blew that outta the water this year.

  6. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Hey from WNC! What worries me about this sprawling state is the “red” perspective outside the middle (college influenced) swath of the state. The Dems must focus on the ENTIRE state to pull it blue, not just the easy college towns with the fun rallies. It’s going to take grassroots WORK to pull the edges of this state from red to blue! I think it can be done, but like MBB said, Barry needs to GET WITH THE PROGRAM ASAP!!

  7. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    I hear you, GreenEyeDevil. There is no way he will carry South Carolina, but the political climate here varies greatly depending on which part of the state you’re in. We were in Charleston the evening of our state’s Democratic primary, and everyone I spoke with had voted that day (our state has primaries on different days for different parties), whereas I was only one of 17 people who showed up at my voting precinct here in Myrtle Beach, which is a Republican stronghold, boo hiss.

  8. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    Yes, Charleston is unique! No way MB or heaven forbid Conway will swing Blue. Not.going.to.happen. And I really wish they would move w/the VP nomination. The clock is ticking and he needs every element of momentum he can create.

    The idea of MrCrankyPants as the next POTUS, with the ability to influence the balance of the Supreme Court makes me want to fall on my sword! Get it together Obama!!!

Leave a Reply

