Wah Wah Wah Wah I Can’t Hear You

Sigh.  South Carolina can’t compete in that contest.  In fact, I think we could give the un-gayest state in the union contest a real go.  Of course, the Defense of Marriage Act gives us the right to suck balls that way, but I didn’t know about another “right” it afforded the civil rights stragglers until I read Gary Gates’ article in the Sun News today. 

Gates reports that:

“The Census Bureau has determined that the Act – which defines marriage as solely between a man and a woman for all purposes related to federal regulations – prohibits it from recognizing same-sex marriages. For the 2010 survey, the bureau intends to maintain the policy established in 2000, whereby it will edit the responses of married same-sex couples. Same-sex spouses will be reported as ‘unmarried partners’ in all census tabulations.”

This despite the fact that, since 2000, two states have legalized same-sex marriage, and one state has agreed to recognize same-sex marriages from other states.  I’m beyond irked.  I understand that there are still morAns out there who don’t think same-sex couples should marry, but burying your head in the sand and pretending that same-sex couples don’t marry just defies reason.  As Gates points out, the Census Bureau’s mission statement provides that it “serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation’s people.”  Perhaps they should add a “provided we approve of those people'” in there.  I, for one, plan to lie through my teeth next time they come a’knockin’.  If they don’t care about the truth, neither do I.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Wah Wah Wah Wah I Can’t Hear You”

  1. Skinny Bone Jones Says:

    From the safety of my Golden [Gate] Bubble, I say this: Oh, boy. That is beyond. I can really only feel exasperation and dismay at the thought of traveling there and running into issues, but then I begin to wonder about The Gay who live there, and it’s all heavy sighs and hearts and whatever else weighs the soul down. It makes me sleepy.

  2. BAngieB Says:

    That whole thing is just ugly. It’s a lot of ugly actin’ and ugly talkin’.
    Such as.

  3. nadarine Says:

    Government:
    “Man, this will really create a lot of extra work for us, won’t it?
    Yes, but it says NANANABOOBOO to the gays!
    Ok, then, proceed with the lots of extra work!”

Leave a Reply

