Um. So, About My iPod.

Months and months and DAMN months ago, I told Kadinsky aka World’s Hottest Woman that she should ask ButtercupPunch readers to confess the most embarrassing song on their iPods.  Have I heard back from that hawtbitch?  No.  (I have, however, nibbled on her shoulder, so there’s that).  Anyway, confession is wicked good for the soul, so I’ma go it alone and let y’all know what I’m holding.

I, uh, have a Miley Cyrus song on my iPod, and I cannot completely blame it on the fact that I share my iPod with my eight year-old sons.  No, I shelled out $0.99 for the chance to hear “See You Again” on demand.  I could make a thousand excuses for myself, like the fact that it’s a catchy tune, I got hooked on Miley when my boys FORCED me to take them to see her concert movie (all them, I swear), I’m surrounded by Radio Disney every day anyway, etc.  But in the end, it’s just you and your iPod, people, and at the top of your “why I have X song in my iPod list” is the fact that you like that song.  You know you do.  Just admit it.

I have purchased plenty of cheesy and wrongful songs from iTunes.  I have a lot of John Denver, a couple of Britney Spears, and I’m currently stuck on the Manhattans’ “Kiss and Say Goodbye.”  I feel that all of these songs are defensible, though.  I can’t say the same for my Hannah Montana purchase, and that’s why I decided to let it all out here.

Whew!  I feel better.  Now, please make me feel even better by telling me what’s lurking in your iPod.  Neil Diamond?  Debbie Gibson?  New Edition?  Milli Vanilli?  Do tell, bitches.

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to “Um. So, About My iPod.”

  1. London_Calling Says:

    Oooo, I have so much here. I just put Ace of Base’s “The Sign” (the full album mind you) on there. The soundtrack to the musical Buffy the Vampire Slayer episode, Hoobastank (remember them?), Limp Bizkit (don’t ask – and I generally have a sampling of every late-90s band like that…ugh). But, probably the most shameful thing I have on there, and that I still like it listen to when it comes up…Avril Lavigne. And not a punky upbeat track, but “I’m With You”. Yes, an Avril Lavigne ballad.

    But thank you MBB, this made me feel better (until someone starts laughing at me) :)

  2. AGreenEyeDevil Says:

    I’m not a real techie person, so I’ve never owned an iPod. But if I did, I can assure you if would have the most outlandish mish-mash of songs!! For starters: John Denver, 50 Cent, George Strait, Kenny Wayne S., Johnny Cash, Elvis singing gospel songs, Stevie Nicks, Ma Rainey, Grace Slick, Etta James, and lots of soundtrack pieces (Blackhawk Down, Legends of the Fall, Last of the Mohicans, Matrix, Braveheart etc.) And you can throw in a nocturne and/or prelude by Chopin.

  3. nadarine Says:

    I have “See You Again” on there too, MBB. It’s ok. It’s a damn catchy pop song, and I will admit my love for it! (Only to you, though. Not to people who might mock me for this.)
    I also have a lot of Jack Kerouac readings on my iPod, which isn’t so much embarrassing as it is just plain WEIRD when I put it on shuffle and I go from the Beastie Boys to Kerouac.

  4. lalaland13 Says:

    I have Britney Spears “I’m a Slave 4 U.” That’s the most embarrassing one I can think of. Christina Aguilera’s “Fighter” gets me way too pumped up sometimes. I have “Belle” from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast on there. Bonjour! Bonjour! I have Mika’s album, which I used to be fascinated with but now mostly annoys the heck out of me.

  5. cate3710 Says:

    @London_Calling: I’ve got the Buffy musical songs on my iPod too.

    I don’t have too much embarrassing stuff on my iPod, mostly because it’s full and I have to delete things in order to add new songs. But I’ve still got a chunk of Dashboard Confessional and other emo, a few Evanescence songs, the Empire Records soundtrack, Vanessa Carlton’s “A Thousand Miles,” the theme from “The Hunt for Red October,” and some Gregorian chants.

  6. bangmaster Says:

    I’ve stolen a lot of music from friends and coworkers, so there’s a lot of stuff on there where I go, “How the fuck did that get on here.” In good and bad ways. I think there’s a Panic at the Disco song and something even more heinous that I know is from a mix CD a friend made me. But I don’t remember that they’re on there so I forget to delete them.

    The most embarassing song I have on my iPod that I put on there is the entirety of BBMac’s first CD.

    “Until you’re back here baby. Miss you, want you, need you so. Until you’re back here baby-yeah. There’s a feeling inside, I want you to know. You are the one and I caaaaaan’t let you gooooo.”

    Mmm, British boy bands.

  7. The Mayor of Bethville Says:

    Oh, I’m sorry. Is it supposed to be embarrassing to have Debbie Gibson on your iPod? Because I soooo have Debbie Gibson on my iPod.

    I have Bill Murray singing the theme from “Star Wars.”

    I have Lulu singing “The Man With the Golden Gun.”

    I have the F.U.N. song from Spongebob.

    Oh, yeah. And I can never delete any of them.

  8. myrtlebeachbum Says:

    London, Avril kind of drives that ballad home. No shame. I may or may not go download it now.

    Devil, You and I are [theoretical] iPod twinsies – no surprise there.

    Nadarine, WTF? I thought better of you. You’re supposed to be my good-taste friend.

    Lala, I LOVE me some Britney.

    Cate and Bangmaster, Get some bad taste in your lives already. May I suggest you start slowly, maybe with a little Terence Trent D’Arby? Yeah, I totally have TTD on my iPod.

    Beth, You will be glad to know we danced enthusiastically to “Only In My Dreams” at the panda wedding. Yes, yes we did.

  9. dorothyzbornak Says:

    @london_calling: I hate Avril, but I love that song.

    I have lots of Britney, Spice Girls and even a few Pussycat Dolls songs on mine. But the most shameful? New Kids on the Block’s “The Right Stuff.” I can’t let it go.

  10. SPARKLE Says:

    today I just heard and saw the video of Hilary Duff’s remix of Reach Out. That little girl is soooo cute!

  11. bebehblog Says:

    @Lala – psh, one Britney song is nothing. All her albums plus several videos is embarassing. And I have that.

    @MBB – I also have that Miley song. But I have no children as an excuse.

    @Bangmaster – Not only do I have that BBMak song, I own the actual cd which I took the time to upload to my iPod.

    I think I am most embarassed by Neil Diamond though. I have no good excuse for that shit, it’s not like I can blame it on my misspent youth.

  12. cate3710 Says:

    @MBB: I think what’s saving me is that I don’t listen to the radio or buy stuff through iTunes, so I miss a lot of the catchy yet horrible songs. Most of the stuff on my iPod is from my CDs or ripped from CDs from my college radio station. Lots of semi-obscure indie rock there, not much in the way of pop.

  13. Skinny Bone Jones Says:

    It is imperative to my glowing reputation as a mafia wedding DJ that I not divulge any secret iPod shames I may or may not have.

  14. badenbaden Says:

    I may or may not have some old-school Whitney ballads on there. (What? She Gives Good Love. To me. Babyyyyyy.)

    I may or may not have the techno-fied version of Hillary Duff’s Wake Up.

    I may or may not have Promise of a New Day and Rush Rush by Paula Abdul.

    I may or may not have Ashlee Simpson’s L.O.V.E.

    I may or may not have immensely enjoyed all of these on more than one occasion.

  15. Confess! « ButtercupPunch - “La clique, c’est chic!” Says:

    […] oh, a couple months worth of blogs to catch up on, but first I need to address something.  See, last year I told Myrtlebeachbum I would post about the most embarrassing songs on my iPod and then I never did it.  Actually, this […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

